The Quarter System

The quarter system is a unique part of the traditional UChicago education. It allows students to take fewer courses each quarter than a semester system, but more courses over their entire legal education. Students also get the advantage of easing into the final exam process. Because most classes meet for two quarters, 1Ls only have two exams at the end of both Autumn and Winter quarters. Many students find that this makes the adjustment to law school life a great deal easier. Finally the quarter system allows each 1L to take electives such as Public International Law, Health Law, Economic Analysis of Law, and Copyright Law (to name a few) in the Spring Quarter. Students choose from a list of seven to nine 1L-appropriate courses, many of which provide good foundations for both upper-level coursework and summer jobs.

Perhaps most importantly, the quarter system at the Law School is the same as the quarter system at the rest of the University of Chicago, making it simple for students to take advantage of the huge variety of courses the University has to offer. Nearly the entire University is an easy walk from the Law School, and students may take up to four classes anywhere else in the University during their second and third years. Students often take these classes in the Booth School of Business; the Harris School of Public Policy; the Crown Family School of Social Work, Policy, and Practice; the Pritzker School of Medicine; and a variety of graduate departments.

View Quarter System Frequently Asked Questions.