Law School Diversity Committee

In summer of 2016, the University of Chicago Law School Faculty Diversity Committee was convened by Dean Thomas Miles to assess the diversity and inclusion climate at the Law School, with a focus on the experience of students.  The Committee consisted of seven members, including members of the research and clinical faculty, the Deputy Dean, the Dean of Students, the Associate Dean for Admissions and Financial Aid, and the Associate Dean for Career Services and Policy Initiatives.

Throughout the 2016-2017 academic year, the Diversity Committee engaged in fact gathering with the Law School community, hosting listening sessions and town halls with all of the Law School’s constituencies, in addition to reviewing information related to admissions, faculty diversity, and other aspects of the Law School experience. The Diversity Committee continued its work into the 2017-2018 academic year, developing a series of recommendations for moving the Law School forward on topics of diversity and inclusion. On March 26, 2018, Dean Miles announced and fully endorsed the 2016-2017 Diversity Committee’s recommendations, including making the Diversity Committee a standing committee for the Law School.

2019-2020 Diversity Committee

William Hubbard, Chair & Professor of Law

Lois Casaleggi, Associate Dean of Career Services

Sharon Fairley, Professor from Practice

Claudia M. Flores, Associate Clinical Professor of Law, Director, International Human Rights Clinic

Richard H. McAdams, Deputy Dean, Bernard D. Meltzer Professor of Law

Jennifer Nou, Professor of Law 

Ann K. Perry, Associate Dean for Admissions and Financial Aid

Charles N. Todd, Dean of Students

Contact the Diversity Committee

Feedback for the Law School Diversity Committee

Student Liaison Committee

The Student Liaison Committee will work closely with the Diversity Committee on implementation of the March 26, 2018 Recommendations.  For the remainder of the 2018-2019 academic year, in addition to providing student comments and feedback to the Diversity Committee, the Student Liaison Committee will work closely with the Diversity Committee on hiring a diversity and inclusion focused administrator for the Law School.

For questions related to the Student Liaison Committee, please