Martha C. Nussbaum Student Roundtables

roundtable logo thumbnail

The Martha C. Nussbaum Student Roundtables support the University of Chicago’s longstanding commitment to free expression and open discourse. The roundtables were endowed by Professor Nussbaum in 2019 with the intent of bringing together students and faculty with diverse, and often disparate ideological viewpoints in a respectful discussion. Students are encouraged to engage and confront ideas that may be different from their own with a spirit of civil and vigorous debate. Space is limited, and RSVP is required.

 

Date

Topic

Hosts

Registration

Friday, October 18, 2019

Inequality

William Hubbard, Professor of Law

David Weisbach, Walter J. Blum Professor of Law, Senior Fellow, the Computation Institute of the University of Chicago and Argonne National Laboratory

RSVP

Wednesday, October 30, 2019

Identity Politics

Tom Ginsburg, Leo Spitz Professor of International Law, Ludwig and Hilde Wolf Research Scholar, Professor of Political Science

 

Claudia Flores, Associate Clinical Professor of Law, Director, International Human Rights Clinic

RSVP

Friday, November 22, 2019 

Immigration

Adam Chilton, Assistant Professor of Law, Walter Mander Research Scholar

Anup Malani, Lee and Brena Freeman Professor of Law

 

Tuesday, January 7, 2020

TBD

TBD

 

Tuesday, January 14, 2020

TBD

William Baude, Professor of Law, Aaron Director Research Scholar

Martha C. Nussbaum, Ernst Freund Distinguished Service Professor of Law and Ethics
 

Tuesday, February 4, 2020

TBD

TBD

 

Tuesday, February 11, 2020

TBD

TBD

 

Wednesday, April 8, 2020

TBD

TBD

 

Friday, April 10, 2020

TBD

TBD

 

Tuesday, May 10, 2020

TBD

TBD