Strahilevitz, 2 Alumni Elected to Membership in American Law Institute

In October 2015, The American Law Institute announced the names of 73 newly elected members. These outstanding judges, lawyers, and law professors are from 22 states and the District of Columbia, and three foreign countries.

Among those elected in 2015 was Lior Strahilevitz, the Sidley Austin Professor of Law at the University of Chicago Law School, whose teaching and research interests include property and land use, privacy, intellectual property, law and technology, and motorist behavior. He serves as an Adviser on the Principles of the Law, Data Privacy project.

Following his law school graduation, Professor Strahilevitz clerked for Judge Cynthia Holcomb Hall on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit. He then practiced law in Seattle before joining the law school faculty in 2002. He was tenured in 2007, and served as the Law School's Deputy Dean from 2010 to 2012. In 2011, he was named the inaugural Sidley Austin Professor of Law.

Other members of the faculty who are members of ALI include Omri Ben-Shahar, Emily Buss, Kenneth W. Dam, Frank H. Easterbrook, Richard H. Helmholz, Eric A. Posner, Richard A. Posner, Geoffrey R. Stone, David A. Weisbach, and Diane P. Wood.

Also elected to ALI membership this year were Roland E. Brandel, '66, of Morrison & Foerster LLP, and Professor Michael J. Gerhardt, '82, of the University of North Carolina School of Law. 

Read more at Law School Office of Communications