Diane P. Wood Receives the Department of Justice's John S. Sherman Award

Chief Judge Diane P. Wood Receives the Justice Department's 2015 John S. Sherman Award

Assistant Attorney General Bill Baer presented the 2015 John S. Sherman Award – the department’s highest antitrust honor – to Chief Judge Diane P. Wood of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit. Judge Wood is a leading antitrust scholar and served as a Deputy Assistant Attorney General in the department’s Antitrust Division between 1993 and 1995. 

The John Sherman Award is named after Senator John Sherman, who authored our nation’s first antitrust law – the Sherman Act – in 1890. Established in 1994, the Sherman Award recognizes individuals whose commitment to sound antitrust enforcement and policy have made “substantial contributions to the protection of American consumers and the preservation of economic liberty.”

The award was presented to Judge Wood during a ceremony in the Great Hall of the Robert F. Kennedy Department of Justice building. “I cannot think of a more deserving recipient of the department’s highest antitrust honor,” said Deputy Attorney General Sally Quillian Yates. “Chief Judge Wood has consistently demonstrated her commitment to the legal profession and she has been a trailblazer throughout her career for those who aspire to protect economic freedom and opportunity by promoting free and fair competition in the marketplace.”

Read more at Department of Justice website

Faculty awards