American Philosophical Association Awards 2015 Quinn Prize to Martha Nussbaum

The American Philosophical Association is pleased to announce that Dr. Martha Nussbaum, Ernst Freund Distinguished Service Professor of Law and Ethics at the University of Chicago Law School, has been awarded the 2015 Quinn Prize, the APA’s highest honor for service to the profession.

The prize memorializes Philip L. Quinn, a former president of the APA’s Central Division and chair of the APA’s board of officers. The prize, which includes a $2,500 monetary award, is given annually by the APA’s board of officers in recognition of service to philosophy and philosophers, broadly construed.

Over her career, Nussbaum has been president of the APA Central Division and has served on the APA Board of Officers in multiple capacities. She has chaired APA committees, including the Committee on Lectures, Publications, and Research, the Committee on International Cooperation, the Committee on the Status of Women, the Committee on Public Philosophy, and others. Author of over 30 books, Nussbaum received her Ph.D. from Harvard University and holds honorary degrees from 37 institutions worldwide.

Cheshire Calhoun, chair of the APA’s board of officers, said, “Martha Nussbaum's extraordinary philosophical career has been devoted to deepening our understanding of issues of profound social, political, and ethical importance, and doing so with great intelligence, humanity, and literary elegance. She pioneered, when it was not fashionable to do so, writing philosophy that weaves through disciplinary boundaries, that speaks to a wider public audience, and that is fully civically engaged. We award her the Quinn Prize with both pride and gratitude.”

Nussbaum will receive her award at the upcoming Central Division meeting in March 2016 in Chicago, Illinois.

Professor Nussbaum's List of Service to philosophy and philosophers may be found on the APA's Quinn Prize Page

About the APA

Founded in 1900, the American Philosophical Association promotes the discipline and profession of philosophy, both within the academy and in the public arena. The APA supports the professional development of philosophers at all levels and works to foster greater understanding and appreciation of the value of philosophical inquiry.

Read more at American Philosophical Association

Faculty awards