Richard Posner Named Distinguished Fellow by American Economic Association

American Economic Association Announces Award Recipients for 2018

The American Economic Association (AEA) announces recipients of the John Bates Clark Medal, Distinguished Fellows, Foreign Honorary Members, and the "Best Paper Awards" of the American Economic Journals. These outstanding achievements will be honored at the AEA Annual Meeting, January 4-6, 2019, in Atlanta, Georgia.


The Distinguished Fellow awards recognize the lifetime research contributions of distinguished economists. Since 1965, past presidents of the AEA are recognized as Distinguished Fellows, and up to four additional individuals may be elected for the award in one calendar year. Distinguished Fellows are selected by the AEA Nominating Committee and voting members of the Executive Committee, sitting together as an electoral college. A list of current and past Distinguished Fellows is available at


Distinguished Fellows

Henry Aaron, Brookings Institute
Francine Blau, Cornell University
Joel Mokyr, Northwestern University
Richard Posner, University of Chicago

Read more at American Economic Association

Faculty awards