David Strauss Honored with 2023 Norman Maclean Faculty Award

Profs. Frederick de Armas and David Strauss honored with 2023 Norman Maclean Faculty Award

Two University of Chicago scholars have been honored for their contributions to teaching and student life at the University.

Profs. Frederick de Armas and David Strauss are the recipients of this year’s Norman Maclean Faculty Award. Established in 1997, the awards are named in honor of Prof. Norman Maclean, PhD’40, the author of A River Runs Through It, who taught at UChicago for 40 years.

The awards are presented by the Alumni Association and the Alumni Board, which have also recognized winners of the 2023 Alumni Awards for their professional achievements and service on behalf of the University.


David Strauss is the Gerald Ratner Distinguished Service Professor of Law and the faculty director of the Supreme Court and Appellate Clinic at the University of Chicago Law School. He is the author of The Living Constitution (Oxford University Press, 2010) and a co-author of Democracy and Equality: The Enduring Constitutional Vision of the Warren Court (Oxford University Press, 2019), and he has written many academic and popular articles on constitutional law and related subjects.

He is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a member of the American Law Institute and a co-editor of the Supreme Court Review. He is a six-time winner of the University of Chicago Law School Graduating Students’ Award for Teaching Excellence. He was recently a member of the President’s Commission on the Supreme Court of the United States, and he has served as an assistant to the solicitor general of the United States, in the Office of Legal Counsel of the U.S. Department of Justice, and as special counsel to the U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee. He has argued 19 cases before the U.S. Supreme Court.

Read more at The University of Chicago News Office

Faculty awards