Apply to be an Earl B. Dickerson Fellow

The University of Chicago Law School invites applications for the Earl B. Dickerson Fellowship, with an appointment at the rank of Instructor, effective July 1, 2024, or thereafter. The appointment is for one year with possible reappointment for a second term. The Dickerson Fellowship is named after the first African-American J.D. graduate of the Law School, from the class of 1920. The Law School seeks candidates who demonstrate the promise of distinguished legal scholarship and law teaching and ideally have relevant practice experience that will qualify them to act as teachers and mentors of students. In addition, we encourage applications from candidates with diverse backgrounds and perspectives who will enrich and improve the student experience and the Law School’s culture. The Dickerson Fellow will teach one or more courses per year and will be expected to publish high-quality scholarship and contribute to the intellectual life of the Law School. The program is designed to provide the Fellow with substantial time for writing and research, along with significant research funding where appropriate.

The fellowship is open to any individual with a JD, PhD, or similar degree who intends to pursue a career as an academic.

Apply Now

If you have questions about the fellowship, please contact Professor Jonathan S. Masur.

The University of Chicago is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity/Disabled/Veterans Employer and does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, national or ethnic origin, age, status as an individual with a disability, protected veteran status, genetic information, or other protected classes under the law. For additional information please see the University's Notice of Nondiscrimination. Job seekers in need of a reasonable accommodation to complete the application process should call 773-702-5671 or email with their request.

Placements for Dickerson Fellows
Name Academic Years Institution
Sherod Thaxton 2011-13 UCLA
LaToya Baldwin-Clark 2016-18 UCLA
Atinuke Adediran 2018-20 Fordham University
Emilie Aguirre 2019-21 Duke University
Aisha Saad 2021-23 Georgetown University