Martha Nussbaum Receives Order of Lincoln Award

Governor Pritzker Announces the 2022 Order of Lincoln Recipients

Governor JB Pritzker today announced the 2022 recipients of the Order of Lincoln, the state's highest honor for professional achievement and public service. Established in 1964, the Order of Lincoln honors Illinois residents whose work uplifts every community in the state. This year's Lincoln Laureates will be honored at the upcoming 58th annual Convocation on April 30, 2022, at Hammerschmidt Memorial Chapel on the campus of Elmhurst University. The six recipients join a cohort of over 350 distinguished Illinois residents who have joined the Order of Lincoln over the last five decades.
"For more than 50 years, the Order of Lincoln has recognized residents who go above and beyond in service to the public, offering innovation, generosity, and commitment to their fellow Illinoisans through a range of achievements," said Governor JB Pritzker. "The 2022 class of Lincoln Laureates can be especially proud to receive this award in an era that has asked so much of all our communities. Illinois is a state defined by its kindness, and it's my honor to recognize these six individuals for embodying that characteristic in all their years of service."  
This year's recipients are:


Martha C. Nussbaum - Nussbaum is the Ernst Freund Distinguished Service Professor of Law and Ethics, appointed in the University of Chicago Law School and philosophy department.