Martha C. Nussbaum Receives the 2022 Balzan Prize for Moral Philosophy

2022 Balzan Prizes presented in Rome

At the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei in Rome, the Balzan Prizes 2022 were presented today to:

Martha C. Nussbaum for Moral Philosophy,
Philip V. Bohlman for Ethnomusicology,
Robert Langer for Biomaterials for Nanomedicine and Tissue Engineering,
Dorthe Dahl-Jensen and Johannes (Hans) Oerlemans for Glaciation and Ice Sheet Dynamics.

The ceremony took place in the presence of the Presidents of the International Balzan Foundation "Prize", Alberto Quadrio Curzio, and the International Balzan Foundation "Fund", Gisèle Girgis-Musy. In accordance with the ceremony’s usual formalities, each Prizewinner, introduced in turn by Luciano Maiani, Chairman of the General Prize Committee, gave a speech of acceptance and thanks.

After the ceremony, the Prizewinners were received at the Quirinal Palace by the President of the Italian Republic, Sergio Mattarella.

Read more at International Balzan Prize Foundation