Conference: "Markets, Firms and Property Rights: A Celebration of the Research of Ronald Coase"


Open to the public

This Conference brings together a group of scholars to honor the life and research of Ronald Coase. 2009 marks the 50th anniversary of the publication of Coase’s seminal paper on the Federal Communications Commission. 2010 marks the 50th anniversary of the publication of his paper on “The Problem of Social Cost,” and his 100th birthday.

The presentations on this occasion cover specific topics on which Coase’s work has exerted profound influence, including such areas as telecommunications policy, airline regulation and development, environmental economics, economic development, organization of the firm, and general discussions of the questions of transactions costs and social rationality to which he has contributed so much.

The conference web page is at

The Conference is being organized by Richard A. Epstein of the University of Chicago, Thomas Hazlett of George Mason University, and Roger Noll and Greg Rosston of Stanford University. These papers shall be published in special issues of the Journal of Law and Economics and the Journal of Legal Studies. The Conference will be held at the University of Chicago Law School on Friday December 4 and Saturday, December 5, 2009. The public is invited.

If you wish to attend this event, please register with Marjorie Holme at or 773-702-0220. You must register to attend.

The event is sponsored by the John M. Olin Program in Law and Economics at the University of Chicago Law School, the Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research,  the Information Economy Project at George Mason University, the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation, the China Center for Economic Research,  the Milton Friedman Institute for Research in Economics, and the George J. Stigler Center for the Study of the Economy and the State.

Participants include:

  • Gary Becker
  • Lee Benham
  • Omri Ben-Shahar
  • Xiaofang Chen
  • Lennon H. T. Choy
  • Robert Cooter
  • Peter Cramton
  • Harold Demsetz
  • Richard Epstein
  • Sebastian Galiani
  • Robert Hahn
  • Thomas Hazlett
  • Charles Jackson
  • Evan Kwerel
  • William Landes
  • Michael Levine
  • Zhimin Liao
  • Gary Libecap
  • Thomas Merrill
  • Roger Noll
  • Douglass North
  • Sam Peltzman
  • David Porter
  • Richard A. Posner
  • Greg Rosston
  • Michael Schill
  • Steven Shavell
  • Mary Shirley
  • Vernon Smith
  • Robert Stavins
  • Geoffrey Stone
  • Robert Topel