David M. Rubenstein, '73, Elected Chairman of National Gallery of Art Board of Trustees

National Gallery of Art Board of Trustees Elects Indra Nooyi as New Trustee; Sharon Rockefeller ...

Washington, DC, Oct. 07, 2021 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Following its September meeting, the National Gallery of Art Board of Trustees announced that former PepsiCo executive Indra Nooyi was elected as a new trustee and will begin serving immediately. Sharon Rockefeller, a policymaker and leader in public media, has retired as chairman of the board. Rockefeller, who has served as chairman since 2013, becomes trustee emeritus. Philanthropist and business leader David Rubenstein was elected chairman.

President of the National Gallery of Art Mitchell P. Rales said, “On behalf of the trustees, I want to welcome Indra Nooyi to the National Gallery. She begins her board service at one of the most exciting moments in the museum’s history and brings with her decades of leadership and philanthropic experience. I also want to extend our sincere gratitude to Sharon Rockefeller for her service to the board of the National Gallery. Sharon has been a model of philanthropic service, and the museum has benefited greatly from her leadership and generosity. She has shepherded the National Gallery through key moments in its history, including completion of the 75th anniversary endowment campaign, a major renovation and expansion of the East Building, and the search for director Kaywin Feldman.” Rales added, “We are delighted David Rubenstein has agreed to succeed Sharon as chairman. As a trustee David has made a significant impact on the National Gallery and we look forward to his inspired leadership in this new role.”

Read more at KULR8