Sunstein Awarded Phillips Prize

Cass R. Sunstein Awarded the American Philosophical Society’s Henry M. Phillips Prize
May 17, 2007

The 2007 recipient of the American Philosophical Society’s Henry M. Phillips Prize is Cass R. Sunstein, the Karl N. Llewellyn Distinguished Professor of Jurisprudence at the University of Chicago Law School. 

Dr. Sunstein was awarded the prize in recognition of his intellectual leadership in constitutional law and political science.  Of particular note is his profound research and writing demonstrating the complex interplay between jurisprudential constructs and the day by day resolution of legal conflicts.

In opening remarks at the Society’s April 26 awards ceremony, presenter Ellen Ash Peters lauded Dr. Sunstein’s impressive body of work, which includes a large number of books, articles and essays ranging in topic from the application of legal realism to the jurisprudential implications of cyberspace.  His books include After the Rights Revolution: Reconceiving the Regulatory State (1990), The Partial Constitution (1993), Democracy and the Problem of Free Speech (1993), Legal Reasoning and Political Conflict (1996), Free Markets and Social Justice (1997), Risk and Reason (2002), The Cost-Benefit State (2002), Punitive Damages: How Juries Decide (2002), Why Societies Need Dissent (2003), The Second Bill of Rights (2004), and Laws of Fear: Beyond the Precautionary Principle (2005).  He is a graduate of Harvard College and its Law School, magna cum laude.

The Henry M. Phillips Prize rec