Landes Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Landes Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences
April 28, 2008

William M. Landes, Clifton R. Musser Professor of Law and Economics at the University of Chicago Law School, has been elected to the 2008 Class of Fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Founded in 1780, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences is an independent policy research center that conducts multidisciplinary studies of complex and emerging problems. The Academy’s elected members are leaders in the academic disciplines, the arts, business, and public affairs.

Dr. Landes, who received his Ph.D. in Economics from Columbia University, taught in the Economics Departments of Stanford University, Columbia University, the Graduate Center of the City University of New York, and The University of Chicago before joining the faculty of the University of Chicago Law School. He teaches economic analysis of law, art law and intellectual property. He is an expert in the application of economics to legal problems, including torts and antitrust. A former President of the American Law and Economics Association, Dr. Landes has appeared as an expert before the courts, administrative agencies, and committees of Congress. He is Co-Editor of the Journal of Legal Studies.

In receiving this honor, Landes joins twelve other current University of Chicago Law School Faculty and Senior Lecturers previously elected to the Academy: Douglas G. Baird, Ronald Coase, Frank H. Easterbrook, Richard Epstein, Kenneth W. Dam, R. H. Helmholz, Saul Levmore, Abner J. Mikva, Richard A. Posner, Geoffrey R. Stone, David A. Strauss, and Diane P. Wood.

The other Fellows elected to the Law Section of the Academy this year are Mark Gregory Kelman, Stanford Law School; Richard H. Pildes, New York University School of Law; Margaret Jane Radin, University of Michigan Law School; Reva Beth Siegel, Yale Law School; John Paul Stevens, Supreme Court of the United States; William J. Stuntz, Harvard Law School; Elizabeth Warren, Harvard Law School.

William M. Landes