Hinton Moot Court

The Edward W. Hinton Moot Court Competition is the Law School’s own moot court competition, open to 2L and 3L students in the Law School. Participants gain experience in appellate advocacy—both written and oral—in three rounds of competition (one each quarter):

  • Preliminary Round (Fall): Open to all 2L’s and 3L’s (except those 3L’s who were Semi-Finalists last year). No brief-writing is required. Participants argue both sides of a current case—based on briefs prepared by the real advocates—in front of a panel of alumni or practitioner judges. First-time competitors are required to have a practice argument with a member of the Moot Court Board.
  • Semi-Final Round (Winter): The top 10-12 competitors from the Preliminary Round write briefs and argue a new case in front of a panel of faculty judges. 
  • Final Round (Spring): The top four competitors from the Semi-Final Round write briefs and argue a new case in front of a panel of sitting judges (typically federal appellate judges).

Dates for the 2018-19 Competition:

  • Information Meeting:  October 19, 2018
  • Registration Deadline: TBA
  • Practice Arguments: TBA
  • Preliminary (Fall) Rounds: TBA
  • Semi-Final (Winter) Round: TBA
  • Final (Spring) Round: TBA

The members of the 2018-20198 Hinton Moot Court Board are last year’s semi-finalists and finalists who still attend the Law School:

Board Members:

  • Leonard Cortelli
  • Lee Farnsworth
  • Sam Fuller
  • Stephen Spector
  • Michael Wheat