Law School Leads Phoenix Cup Standings

The University of Chicago may no longer be known for powerhouse inter-collegiate sports, but students here still thrive on healthy athletic competition. Intramural sports are a major part of student life on campus, especially in the graduate schools. Students compete in nineteen team sports and fourteen invididual sports, including Broomball, Ultimate Frisbee, and Innertube Water Polo. The graduate schools compete for the Phoenix Cup, awarded annually to the graduate program earning the most points in sanctioned intramural activities throughout the academic year (by way of participation and place). In the proud tradition of intramural sports, the Phoenix Cup gives the winning graduate school bragging rights and trash talk fodder for the entire following year. The Law School had long been an active participant in intramural sports. The women’s football team, Apathy, at one point owned a streak of thirteen championships.

Buoyed by team championships in Coed Flag Football, Coed Volleyball (team name “Justice Served”), and Wiffleball, the Law School has topped the Intramural Office’s first 2011-2012 Phoenix Cup standings. The Law School, the graduate program earning the most points in sanctioned intramural activities throughout the 2011 Fall Quarter, currently has 650 points. The Booth School of Business is in second place with 220 points, followed by the Harris School of Public Policy (205), last year’s Phoenix Cup Champion, the Pritzker School of Medicine (200), and the Biological Sciences Division (120).

All IM Fall Quarter sports have concluded, and have been included in the point standings, with the exception of Kickball and Racquetball.  A complete list of the current Phoenix Cup Standings (including all 11 graduate programs at the University of Chicago) may be found below.

Congratulations to all the Law School intramural teams, and good luck to those who will compete in upcoming quarters. We have just the place for the Phoenix Cup trophy that we know you will bring to us in the spring!

2011-2012 Phoenix Cup Fall Standings 

  1. Law School (650)
  2. Booth School of Business (220)
  3. Harris School of Public Policy (205)
  4. Pritzker School of Medicine (200)
  5. Biological Sciences Division (120)
  6. Social Sciences Division (80)
  7. Divinity School (60)
  8. Humanities Division (40)
  9. Physical Sciences Division (10)
  10. School of Social Service Administration (0)
  11. Graham School of General Studies (0)