View All A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T V W Y Z

Geoffrey R. Stone : Additional Activities

Recent Awards and Honors

2012 Honored as “Legal Legend” by the American Constitution Society

2011 Business and Professional People for the Public Interest "Champion of the Public Interest" Award

2010 Kathryn Smith Matkov Award from the Federal Bar Association, Chicago Chapter

2007 Wabash College’s David Warner Peck Medal for Eminence in the Law

2006 University of Chicago’s Provost Award for Outstanding Teaching

2006 Goldsmith Book Prize of the John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University, for the Best Book of the Year in Government or Politics (Perilous Times)

Honorary Degree, John Marshall School of Law (May 21, 2006)

2006 Hugh M. Hefner First Amendment Award for Best Book of the Year (Perilous Times)

2005 Los Angeles Times Book Prize for the Best Book of the Year in History (Perilous Times)

2005 Robert F. Kennedy Memorial Book Prize (Perilous Times)

2005 American Political Science Association’s Kammerer Award for the Best Book of the Year in Political Science (Perilous Times)

2005 Scribes Book Award for the Best Book of the Year in Law (Perilous Times)

2005 American Civil Liberties Union’s Harry Kalven Freedom of Expression Award  

Finalist for the American Bar Association’s 2005 Silver Gavel Award for the Best Book of the Year in Law (Perilous Times)

Perilous Times was listed as one of the Notable Books of 2004 by the New York Times, the Washington Post, the Los Angeles Times, the Chicago Tribune, the Christian Science Monitor and the Philadelphia Inquirer

Professional and Civic Associations

Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences (1990-present)

Board of Directors, American Constitution Society (2005-present)

Member of Editorial Advisory Board, Political Science Quarterly (2005-present)

Member, Governing Board, Straight for Equality (2006-present)

Co-Chair, Lawyers for Obama (2007-present)

Member, State of Illinois Death Penalty Reform Study Commission (2004-present)

Board of Directors, Chicago Children’s Choir (2003-present) (Chairman of the Board, 2004-present)

Member, American Law Institute (2003-Present) (1987-1993, ex officio)

Member, National Advisory Council, The American Civil Liberties Union (1998-present)

Member, The Constitution Project: Liberty and Security Initiative (2003-present)

Vice-President, American Academy of Arts and Science (2005-2007)

Chair, Midwest Center of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2005-2007)

Member, National Academy of Sciences Commission on Protecting Children from Pornography on the Internet (2000-2002).

Member, “Thinking Out-of-the Box” Committee, Section on Legal Education, The American Bar Association (2000-2007)

Board of Directors, The MacArthur Justice Center (2003-2006)

Board of Governors, Chapin Hall Center for Children (2001-2003)

Board of Directors, The Renaissance Society (2001-2006)

Board of Directors, The Smart Museum (2002-2006)

Board of Governors, Argonne National Laboratory (1994-2001)

Board of Directors, National Opinion Research Center (1994-2001)

Board of Directors, First Oak Brook Bankshares and Oak Brook Bank (1992-2006)

Advisory Board, Institute for Institutional and Legislative Policy, Central European University, Budapest, Hungary (1992-1994)

National Advisory Board, National Council on Crime and Delinquency (1992-1996)

Executive Committee, American Association of Law Schools (1990-1993)

Board of Advisors, National Association for Public Interest Law (1989-1993)

Advisory Board, Legal Aid Society (1989-1993)

Advisory Board, Chicago Volunteer Legal Services Foundation (1989-1993)

Steering Committee, Commission on Law and Social Action, American Jewish Congress (1979-1997)

Board of Directors, American Civil Liberties Union, Illinois Division (1978-1984)

Advisory Board, Illinois Coalition Against the Death Penalty (1976-1993)

Board of Governors, Chicago Council of Lawyers (1975-1977)

Member, Illinois Supreme Court Special Commission on the Administration of Justice, (1972-1973)