View All A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T V W Z

Dennis J. Hutchinson : Additional Activities


  • Bowdoin College Board of Overseers (1975-present)
  • Supreme Court Historical Society
  • Eleventh Circuit Historical Society
  • Association of American Rhodes Scholars
    Class Secretary (1990-present) 
    Board of Directors (1998-2006) 


  • Professional Awards AMOCO Foundation Award for Distinguished Contributions to Undergraduate Teaching (1992)
  • University of Chicago nominee, Professor of the Year Award (1988 and 1989)
  • Llewellyn John and Harriet Manchester Quantrell Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching, The University of Chicago (1984)
  • Summer Stipendary Fellow, American History and Law, National Endowment for the Humanities Summer Seminar (1978)
  • President, Phi Beta Kappa, Alpha of Maine (1974-1976)


  • Co-Chairman, Committee on Resolutions, Memorial Service of the Supreme Court Bar for Byron R. White, (November 18, 2002)
  • Co-Director, Institute for Constitutional Studies (June 1999) 
  • Speaker, The Aims of Education (September 19, 1999)
  • Convocation Speaker, The University of Chicago (June 8-9, 1990)
  • Panelist, National Endowment for the Humanities (1979-1986)


  • Referee, University of Chicago Press; Oxford University Press
  • Editor, The Supreme Court Review (1981-present)
  • Consultant, World Book Encyclopedia, Inc.


  • Faculty Committee on Readmission to the College (2010-present)
  • Acting chairman, Committee on the Analysis of Ideas and the Study of Methods (2009-present)
  • Acting chairman, Committee on the Analysis of Ideas and the Study of Methods (2009-present)
  • Advisory Committee, Center for Study of the Principles of the American Founding (2006-present)
  • British Scholarships Committee (1990-1997; 2006-present)
  • Faculty Clerkship Committee (1997-present)
  • Acting chairman, Tutorial Studies (1992-present)
  • Program chairman, Law, Letters & Society (1992-present)
  • Governing committee, New Collegiate Division (1982-present)
  • Search Committee: Association Vice-President for Student and Campus Life (2009-2010)
  • Master, New Collegiate Division, and Associate Dean of the College (1992, 1995, 1998, 2001, 2003, 2006, 2010)
  • Acting Dean of the College (November 2005, 2007, 2009)
  • Campus Security and Safety Committee (2008)
  • Board of University Publications (2003-2006)
  • Board of Student and Campus Life (2001-2004)
  • Chair, Steering Committee, Task Force on Housing (2002)
  • Search Committee: Dean of Students in the College (2001)
  • Search Committee: Vice President and Dean of Students in the University (2001)
  • Drafting Committee, College Curriculum Review Committee (1997)
  • University Adviser for Marshall Scholarships in the College (1989-1997)
  • Task Force on Undergraduate Education (1994-1995)
  • Board of Athletics and Recreational Sports (1991-1994)
  • University Council on Teaching (1989-1994)
  • Program chairman, Politics, Economics, Rhetoric and Law (1987-1992)
  • The College Council (1982-1983; 1988-1991)
  • Chair, Lectureship Review Committee in the College (1989-1991)
  • Committee of the College Council (1989-1990)
  • Program associate chairman, Politics, Economics, Rhetoric and Law (1982-1987)