Dean Michael H. Schill Elected to American Academy of Arts & Sciences

Dean Schill and Eight Others from UChicago Will Join the Honor Society
Lynn Safranek
Law School Office of Communications
April 19, 2011

The University of Chicago Law School proudly congratulates Michael H. Schill, Dean and Harry N. Wyatt Professor of Law, on his election to the prestigious American Academy of Arts and Sciences, an honor society that includes some of the world’s most accomplished leaders.
Dean Schill, a recognized expert on real estate and housing policy, and 211 other new members whose elections were announced Tuesday will join the Academy’s celebrated membership of scholars, scientists, writers, artists, and civic, corporate, and philanthropic leaders. Those elected are considered the “thinkers and doers” of their generation.
"It is a privilege to honor these men and women for their extraordinary individual accomplishments," said Leslie Berlowitz, Academy President and William T. Golden Chair. "The knowledge and expertise of our members give the Academy a unique capacity - and responsibility - to provide practical policy solutions to the pressing challenges of the day. We look forward to engaging our new members in this work."
Dean Schill joined the Law School faculty in 2010 after serving as Dean of the UCLA School of Law for five years. He has written or edited three books and over 40 articles on various aspects of housing, real estate and property law, and he is an active member of a variety of public advisory councils, editorial boards and community organizations. Dean Schill has also been on the faculty at New York University and the University of Pennsylvania, and has served as director of the Furman Center for Real Estate and Urban Policy.
The Academy was established in 1790 by John Adams and includes historical notables such as John Hancock, George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Albert Einstein, and Winston Churchill. Members have included winners of the Nobel, Pulitzer, and Shaw Prizes; MacArthur and Guggenheim fellows; and Grammy, Tony, and Oscar Award-winners.
Other Law School faculty who have been elected to the Academy are Professors Douglas Baird, Judge Frank Easterbrook, R.H. Helmholz, Saul Levmore, Martha Nussbaum, Eric Posner, Judge Richard Posner, Geoffrey Stone, David Strauss, Judge Diane Wood; and Professors Emeritus Ronald Coase, Kenneth Dam, Richard Epstein, and William Landes.

In addition to Dean Schill, eight others from the University of Chicago were elected to the Academy. To view the complete list, go here.

Michael H. Schill