Caroline Wong '16 Wins 2014 Concerto Competition

2014 Concerto Competition first-place winners to perform with University of Chicago Symphony Orchestra
UChicago News
April 16, 2014

Two of the three first-place winners of the 2014 Concerto Competition will perform with the University of Chicago Symphony Orchestra at 8 p.m. on Saturday, April 26 in Mandel Hall.

Forty musicians applied for the 2014 biennial Concerto Competition at the University. “The record number of applicants demonstrates the continually growing interest in musical performance on our campus,” said Schubert. “The level of preparation and artistry exhibited by this year’s auditioning students was extraordinary. The decisions were difficult to make!”

The 2014 recipients are Caroline Wong, Matthew Bloomfield and George Hyun. The panel of judges for the 2014 Concerto Competition included Barbara Schubert; Robert Whalen, conductor of the University Chamber Orchestra; Chip De Stefano, conductor of the University Wind Ensemble; and Steinway artist Gregory Brown, an internationally acclaimed concert pianist.

Flutist Wong will present Jacques Ibert’s virtuosic Flute Concerto and trumpet player Matthew Bloomfield will perform George Gershwin’s colorful Rhapsody in Blue, in the arrangement by Timofei Dokshizer, the famed principal trumpet player of the Bolshoi Ballet. Barbara Schubert, director of performance programs and conductor for the University Symphony Orchestra, will conduct the program.

Originally from Cincinnati, Ohio, Wong started playing the flute at age 7. She received her BA from the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music in 2012, where she was a student of Thomas Robertello. She also was a first-place winner of the James and Helen Pellerite Orchestral Excerpt Competition in 2012, and the Accent Music Festival Concerto Competition in 2009. She was selected as a live-round competitor in the National Flute Association Young Artist Competition in 2011. Wong is currently a first-year law student at the University of Chicago Law School and a member of the University of Chicago Symphony Orchestra.