Accolades & Achievements

The University of Chicago Law School is proud to recognize noteworthy events in the lives of its alumni through the Accolades & Achievements Blog. Information is gathered from newspaper articles, press releases, and alumni submissions. The blog is updated periodically and is a complement to the Class Notes section of The Record, which is published semi-annually.

If you would like an event added to or removed from the blog, or to report any inaccuracies, please email Alison Coppelman, Director, Alumni Relations, at

Subscribe to Accolades & Achievements

You can filter these entries by keyword or class year below. Type "Yes" below if you would like to see alumni profiles that have been featured in our alumni magazine; you may also choose to profiles featured in a particular issue of the alumni magazine since 2008.

January 29, 2010

Effective January 1, 2010,  Vidya Atre Mirmira '00 has been promoted to Partner at Williams & Connolly in Washington, DC.

January 21, 2010

Milton Sills will celebrate his 100th birthday on February 4, 2010.

The oldest of three children born to Jewish immigrants from Poland, he was born and raised in Chicago, and graduated from the University of Chicago Law School in 1932.

January 21, 2010

Effective January 1, 2010, Stephanie Koh has been promoted to partnership at Sidley Austin LLP.

She is a partner in the Intellectual Property Litigation practice. She focuses her practice on complex patent litigation. Prior to joining Sidley, Koh clerked for Chief Judge J. Harvie Wilkinson III of the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit.

January 21, 2010

Effective January 1, 2010, Beth Flaming has been promoted to partnership at Sidley Austin LLP.

January 21, 2010

Effective January 1, 2010, Melanie E. Walker has been promoted to partnership at Sidley Austin LLP.

January 21, 2010

Andrea St. Amand has been elected a partner at the Columbia-based law firm of Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough LLP. Previously, she was an associate. She is based in the firm's Charleston office. She has a bachelor's degree in English from the College of Charleston and a law degree from the University of Chicago Law School.

January 21, 2010

Mark Aronckick was recently appointed to the The Historical Society of Pennsylvania's Board of Councilors at the society's annual general meeting in November.

January 21, 2010

David Scharf was promoted to vice president, general counsel, and corporate secretary of Baxter International, Inc. He started at Baxter as the deputy general counsel.

January 21, 2010

Saul Behar has joined the University City Science Center as Vice President and General Counsel. Behar has worked for the Science Center as a consultant since January 2009. In addition to his role as General Counsel, Behar also has responsibility for government relations at the federal, state and city levels.

January 8, 2010

Fisher & Phillips LLP announced the election of Joel W. Rice to partner, effective January 1, 2010.