Accolades & Achievements

The University of Chicago Law School is proud to recognize noteworthy events in the lives of its alumni through the Accolades & Achievements Blog. Information is gathered from newspaper articles, press releases, and alumni submissions. The blog is updated periodically and is a complement to the Class Notes section of The Record, which is published semi-annually.

If you would like an event added to or removed from the blog, or to report any inaccuracies, please email Alison Coppelman, Director, Alumni Relations, at

Subscribe to Accolades & Achievements

You can filter these entries by keyword or class year below. Type "Yes" below if you would like to see alumni profiles that have been featured in our alumni magazine; you may also choose to profiles featured in a particular issue of the alumni magazine since 2008.

January 8, 2015

As 2014 drew to a close, we said goodbye to a beloved global citizen. Walter F. Hoffmann, prominent civil rights attorney and tireless advocate for world peace, died at age 90 on Wednesday, December 31. 

January 7, 2015

BuckleySandler LLP announced today that Paige Ammons, Kari K. Hall, Brian P. Kelly, Mehul N. Madia, Jennifer A. Slagle Peck, Ryan S. Pollard and John B. Williams III, residents in the firm's Washington, DC office, and Jonathan W. Cannon, resident in the firm's Los Angeles office, have been promoted to Counsel, effective January 1, 2015.

January 7, 2015

Effective January 1, 2015, Jenner & Block elected 13 lawyers to its partnership from offices across the firm’s national platform.

January 7, 2015

WASHINGTON, D.C., January 5, 2015—Duane Morris LLP is pleased to announce that Robert L. Shapiro has joined the firm's Trial Practice Group as a partner in its Washington, D.C. office. Shapiro's addition expands the firm's trial practice, both in its D.C. office and nationally. Shapiro joins Duane Morris from Hughes Hubbard & Reed.

January 5, 2015

Raleigh, N.C. – Smith Anderson, the largest law firm headquartered in the Research Triangle area, has elected the following five attorneys to the Firm partnership, effective Jan. 1, 2015: Jason Brege, John Jo,Miranda Miller, Mikal Shaikh and Jeff Truitt.


December 30, 2014

Success at any age is impressive. But to achieve it at an early age is evenmore of a feat. This, though is exactly what the 40 young attorneys featured in this publication have done.

For the last 15 years, the 40 Under Forty Committee at Law Bulletin Publishing Company sifts through piles of nominations to select 40 of the most talented young attorneys practicing in Illinois.

December 30, 2014

Washington, DC – The Club for Growth today announced that after nearly six years as President, Chris Chocola is retiring from the role and will remain a member of the board of directors. At a meeting this week, the board of the Club for Growth officially named former Indiana Congressman David McIntosh President.

December 19, 2014

Today the President will sign an Executive Order to create the Task Force on 21st Century Policing and announce its members. The Task Force is part of the Administration’s efforts to strengthen community policing and strengthen trust among law enforcement officers and the communities they serve.

December 18, 2014

Gov. Gary Herbert has nominated Judge Constandinos Himonas to fill a vacancy on the Utah Supreme Court created by the retirement of Justice Ronald Nehring.

The nomination, which is subject to Senate confirmation, is Herbert’s second as governor. If confirmed, Himonas, who is Greek Orthodox, would be the only non-Mormon on the state’s high court.

December 18, 2014

The Securities and Exchange Commission today announced that Gary Barnett and Gary Goldsholle have been named as deputy directors in the Division of Trading and Markets.