Alumni News & Accolades

The Alumni News & Accolades blog gathers information from news articles and press releases about noteworthy events in the lives of alumni. It is a complement to the Class Notes section of The Record.

If you would like an event added to or removed from the blog, or to report any inaccuracies, please email

Subscribe to Alumni News & Accolades

January 11, 2017

The American Law Institute has elected 58 new members, including Charles Senatore, '80, Exec. VP & Head of Regulatory Coordination and Strategy for Fidelity Investments.

January 9, 2017

Michael Haeberle, '12, a specialist in commercial litigation issues such as breach of contract, professional liability and legal malpractice -- has been named as a partner at Patterson Law Firm.

January 6, 2017

Ryan Walsh, '12, has been selected as one of Forbes' 30 Under 30 in Law & Policy 2017.

January 5, 2017

Six years after stepping away from the legal field, Mexican-born Dallas entrepreneur Regina Merson, '07, is celebrating Latina glamour with her makeup line, "Reina Rebelde."

January 3, 2017

Lori Lightfoot, '89, has worked in the U.S. attorney's office, City Hall, and one of Chicago's largest law firms. But as president of the city's police board and chair of Mayor Rahm Emanuel's Police Accountability Task Force, her biggest job to date has been steering the public conversation about local police reform.

January 3, 2017

Incoming Pierce County Executive Bruce Dammeier has appointed Chris Cooley, '11, to his executive team. Cooley will serve as Special Assistant for Budget and Finance/Special Projects.

January 3, 2017

Sonja West, '98, has been named the first holder of the Otis Brumby Distinguished Professorship in First Amendment Law at the University of Georgia.

December 19, 2016

Gov. Bruce Rauner has named Heidi Mueller, '07, a veteran Illinois Department of Juvenile Justice professional, to head that agency.

December 15, 2016

Michelle Clark, '99, has received the unanimous support of the King County Council to lead the King County Flood Control District as the agency’s Executive Director.

December 12, 2016

Professor Martha Albertson Fineman, '75, is the 2017 winner of the Ruth Bader Ginsburg Lifetime Achievement Award from the Association of American Law Schools Section on Women in Legal Education.