Accolades & Achievements

The Accolades & Achievements blog gathers information from news articles and press releases about noteworthy events in the lives of alumni. It is a complement to the Class Notes section of The Record.

If you would like an event added to or removed from the blog, or to report any inaccuracies, please email Alison Coppelman, Director, Alumni Relations, at

Subscribe to Accolades & Achievements

December 5, 2012

From the Covington website:

December 4, 2012

From the MICROS Systems website:

December 3, 2012

From the Chicago Sun-Times:

Illinois Senators Dick Durbin and Mark Kirk are sending four names to President Barack Obama on Monday to replace Patrick Fitzgerald as the U.S. attorney in Chicago.

The four --Jonathan Bunge, Zachary Fardon, Lori Lightfoot and Gil Soffer--are all partners in Chicago law firms with experience as federal prosecutors in Chicago...

November 28, 2012

From the North Bay Business Journal:

Gaw Van Male, a Napa-based law firm that specializes in business law and wealth management, announced that it added six attorneys to its team as seeks to secure its rank as one of the top firms in the North Bay...

The new attorneys [include]:

November 21, 2012

From the UA website:

University of Arizona law professor Marc L. Miller has been chosen as dean of the University of Arizona's James E. Rogers College of Law on an interim basis, effective Nov. 1.

November 20, 2012

From the Pepper Hamilton LLP website:

Pepper Hamilton LLP is pleased to announce that Philadelphia attorneys Amy B. Ginensky, Nina M. Gussack, and Barbara W. Mather have been honored in the first edition of Benchmark: Top 250 Women in Litigation...

November 16, 2012

Excerpted from

November 14, 2012

From the Chicago-Kent website:

IIT Chicago-Kent Professor Ronald W. Staudt was elected president of the College of Law Practice Management (COLPM) at the organization's futures conference and annual meeting October 25–27 in Washington, D.C.

November 13, 2012

Excerpted from

A team of former Democratic rivals will be running the show at the Minnesota Capitol next year.

Two legislators who battled with Gov. Mark Dayton for the Democratic-Farmer-Labor gubernatorial nomination in 2010 were to be elected leaders of the party's new House and Senate majorities on Thursday, Nov. 8.