Accolades & Achievements

The Accolades & Achievements blog gathers information from news articles and press releases about noteworthy events in the lives of alumni. It is a complement to the Class Notes section of The Record.

If you would like an event added to or removed from the blog, or to report any inaccuracies, please email Alison Coppelman, Director, Alumni Relations, at

Subscribe to Accolades & Achievements

October 3, 2014

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Ariel Levinson-Waldman, the Senior Counsel to D.C. Attorney General Irvin B. Nathan, has won the Daniel J. Curtin, Jr.

October 1, 2014

Not long after she graduated from the College at the University of Chicago in 1987, Julie Fernandes, ’94, met an influential mentor, the Chicago civil rights leader Al Raby, who gave her some life-shaping advice: “He told me, ‘If a job seems interesting to you, take it. If you like it, keep it.

September 30, 2014

Earlier this year, Sharon Zezima, ’89, led the legal team for the initial public stock offering (IPO) of GoPro, Inc., the high-flying San Mateo, California–based company that she joined last September as General Counsel and Secretary.

September 29, 2014

It is with sadness that the Council of the Pontifical Institute of Mediaeval Studies reports the passing of Roger E. Reynolds, Senior Fellow Emeritus of the Pontifical Institute of Mediaeval Studies, on 24 September 2014.

September 26, 2014

2014 HNBA “Latino Lawyer of the Year” Award

Jesse H. Ruiz is a partner in the Corporate and Securities Group of Drinker Biddle in their Chicago office. He serves as the firm's Marketing Partner, and is a member of the firm’s Client Service Committee. For over 16 years, Mr.

September 26, 2014

Liisa Thomas, '96, was profiled in Crain's Chicago Business in conjunction with her data breach work:

Liisa Thomas has written the book—or a book—on what to do after a security lapse. The brash title: “Thomas on Data Breach: A Practical Guide to Handling Worldwide Data Breach Notification.”

September 25, 2014

Matthew Prewitt, '96, spoke with Crain's Chicago Business about how lawyers are responding to privacy concerns:

September 24, 2014

The Securities and Exchange Commission announced this week three new high-level appointments.

Jason S. Patil began work at the agency on Monday as an administrative law judge; Rhea Kemble Dignam has been named senior counsel to the director of the Office of Compliance Inspections and Examinations; and Liban Jama has been named director of the Atlanta Regional Office.

September 23, 2014

Matthew Hamel, ’86, is executive vice president, general counsel, and secretary of Louisville-based Brown-Forman Corporation, one of the world’s largest makers and sellers of beverage alcohol. Offering brands that include Jack Daniel’s Tennessee whiskey, Woodford Reserve bourbon, Finlandia vodka, Herradura tequila, and Chambord liqueur, Brown-Forman does business in more than 135 countries.

September 22, 2014

This year the Philadelphia law firm cofounded and chaired by Mark Aronchick, ’74—Hangley, Aronchick, Segal, Pudlin & Schiller—further consolidated its reputation for excellence, being named 2014 Pennsylvania Firm of the Year by Benchmark Litigation, recognized as a “Pennsylvania Powerhouse” by Law360, and honored for excellence by Chambers USA.