Accolades & Achievements

The University of Chicago Law School is proud to recognize noteworthy events in the lives of its alumni through the Accolades & Achievements Blog. Information is gathered from newspaper articles, press releases, and alumni submissions. The blog is updated periodically and is a complement to the Class Notes section of The Record, which is published semi-annually.

If you would like an event added to or removed from the blog, or to report any inaccuracies, please email Alison Coppelman, Director, Alumni Relations, at

Subscribe to Accolades & Achievements

You can filter these entries by keyword or class year below. Type "Yes" below if you would like to see alumni profiles that have been featured in our alumni magazine; you may also choose to profiles featured in a particular issue of the alumni magazine since 2008.

May 4, 2010

Dale Carpenter, Earl R. Larson Professor of Civil Rights and Civil Liberties Law at the University of Minnesota, has been elected to the American Law Institute (ALI). Admission to ALI’s elected membership is a significant professional honor that is limited to 3,000 judges, lawyers, and law teachers from across the world.

May 4, 2010

Meyers Nave announced last week that Henry Hewitt '67 has joined the firm. Mr. Hewitt  specializes in employment and eminent domain law. He has drafted and defended affirmative action programs for government agencies, and represents public entities in such areas as employment and civil rights defense.

April 19, 2010

Jayne Barnard '75, James G. Cutler Professor of Law and Herbert V. Kelly Sr. Chair for Teaching Excellence at William & Mary Law School, has been selected to receive a 2010 Plumeri Award for Faculty Excellence in recognition of her exemplary achievements in regard to teaching, research and service.

April 14, 2010

Property Outlaws, by Edward A. Penalver and Sonia Katyal, puts forth the intriguingly counterintuitive proposition that, in the case of both tangible and intellectual property law, disobedience can often lead to an improvement in legal regulation.

April 13, 2010

James A. Lewis '66 is nominated to be the U.S. Attorney for the Central District of Illinois. He would replace Rodger A. Heaton, who headed the office from 2006 until Aug. 31, 2009. The district’s current acting U.S. Attorney is Jeffrey B. Lang.

Lewis’ vitals:

April 7, 2010

As a principal in the firm's Litigation Group, Mr. Bruce will continue to focus his practice on all areas of intellectual property law with particular emphasis in the fields of chemicals, manufacturing, electrical/computer technology, semiconductors, energy, and software.  

April 6, 2010

Venable LLP has announced that Michael Schatzow, a partner in Venable's Baltimore, MD office, has been named a Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers, one of the premier legal associations in America.

April 1, 2010

David J. Chizewer, Principal in the law firm of Goldberg Kohn Ltd., was recently elected President of the Board of The Chicago International Charter School (CICS).The CICS is the nation's largest charter school, and a frontrunner in thought leadership in the school reform movement.

April 1, 2010

General Growth Properties, Inc. announced that Debra A. Cafaro has been named to GGP's Board of Directors. She will serve on GGP's Capital Committee.

Ms. Cafaro is Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer of Chicago-based Ventas, Inc. Ms. Cafaro is also Chair of the National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts.

March 24, 2010

Greg Weintraub has joined Lash & Goldberg LLP as a Senior Associate.  At Lash & Goldberg, Weintraub will focus on complex civil and commercial litigation and arbitrations.